top of page

CHRYSALIS FEST REVIEW: Dark Mechanics @ The Traverse


Firefly Arts' show "Dark Mechanics" was the most abstract performance I saw at Chrysalis, jam packed with stylised movement, and a very raw approach to physical theatre. It's a piece I still don't really understand but. It seemed to take quite an existential approach, asking a lot of questions without necessarily offering any answers.

The cast wore a mix of rodent-like costumes which highlighted the very raw, animalistic side to their performance, paired with snarls and beastly movements and the intense beats of some very tribal music. These more earthy moments were complemented by some more recognisably human moments, the cast splitting into groups and battling against each other with words and phrases into microphones stating what "makes the world go round". In another section, each member took part in what looked like an assault course, battling it out to become "the winner" There were some slightly longer moments and a lot of patterns within the piece that became quite repetitive, which might've added to the sense of ritual and routine that came from it.

Overall, I was hugely impressed by the cast as a whole and as individuals, each bringing such an immense amount of energy and conviction, and managing to work together in such a tight, slick way that made many moments within the piece mesmerising to watch. I think this was the piece at Chrysalis that left me thinking the most. Though it's not the type of theatre I think I would make, it was a hugely interesting thing to watch and the real determination and precision is something I admired in this piece and left me wanting to see more from this electric ensemble.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page